Washington, D.C.—Following several letters sent by Congresswoman Deborah Ross (NC-02) and her colleagues to the Biden administration, the Department of Homeland Security announced that it has designated Ukraine for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) amidst the ongoing Russian invasion. TPS provides protection from deportation for individuals of a country where conditions prevent them from returning.

“This unprovoked and premeditated attack has affected not only the people living in Ukraine, but also the thousands of Ukrainian nationals currently in the United States,” said Congresswoman Ross. “As part of our duty to help our allies in need, we cannot send our Ukrainian friends and neighbors back to a warzone. I applaud the decision by the Biden administration to declare Temporary Protective Status for Ukraine. This policy will keep thousands of people safe in North Carolina and across the country as we continue to send aid to their loved ones who are defending their homeland across the sea.”

A country may be designated for TPS when conditions in the country fall into one or more of the three statutory bases for designation: ongoing armed conflict, environmental disasters, or extraordinary and temporary conditions. This designation is based on both ongoing armed conflict and extraordinary and temporary conditions in Ukraine that prevent Ukrainian nationals, and those of no nationality who last habitually resided in Ukraine, from returning to Ukraine safely. These conditions result from the full-scale Russian military invasion into Ukraine, which marks the largest conventional military action in Europe since World War II. This invasion has caused a humanitarian crisis with significant numbers of individuals fleeing their homes and damage to civilian infrastructure that has left many without electricity or water or access to food, basic supplies, shelter, and emergency medical services.

Since the Russian attack on Ukraine began, Congresswoman Ross joined many of her House colleagues in a series of letters, led by Representatives Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Mike Quigley (IL-05), and Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), urging the Biden administration to designate TPS for Ukraine. For copies of the letters, click here, here, or here.