WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Representatives Alma Adams (NC-12), David E. Price (NC-04), G. K. Butterfield (NC-01)Deborah Ross (NC-02), and Kathy Manning (NC-06), the Democratic members of North Carolina’s congressional delegation, issued a joint statement today’s redistricting ruling by a three-judge Wake County Superior Court panel:

“A democracy thrives when voters choose their representatives, but withers when politicians choose their voters. We are deeply disappointed by today's decision to disenfranchise millions of North Carolinians, but are hopeful for an appeal to the Supreme Court of the State of North Carolina. Today, as President Biden and Vice President Harris challenge our country to move forward on civil rights and voting rights, we call on the State of North Carolina to listen to the better angels of our nature and ensure the Constitutional promise of 'one person, one vote' and equal protection under the law. These unconstitutional maps must not stand.”