Washington, D.C. - On Monday, President Biden signed the $1.2 trillion Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act into law. Included in this historic package is a bill authored by Congresswoman Deborah Ross (NC-02) and Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) which directs the Secretaries of Energy and Transportation to establish a working group to make recommendations regarding the development, adoption, and integration of electric vehicles into the transportation and energy systems of the United States.

The working group would include both federal and non-federal stakeholders, including representatives of the Environmental Protection Agency, electric vehicle manufacturers, regional transportation agencies, public utilities, labor organizations, the trucking industry, and more.  

“I am delighted that the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act included my legislation to ensure the Departments of Energy and Transportation work with stakeholders from different sectors and diverse backgrounds to develop a national framework for our clean transportation future,” said Congresswoman Ross. “As an innovation hub and one of the fastest growing areas in the country, the Research Triangle is uniquely positioned to be a leader in the EV space. However, we must ensure that local, state, and private sector EV needs align with federal policy. It is important not only to ensure that the U.S. remains competitive in the global EV marketplace, but also to meet the needs of all of our workers, industries, and consumers—including low-income consumers—as we make the transition to an electric fleet.

“I would like to thank Senator Cortez Masto for her leadership on this important issue.”

Congresswoman Ross worked to ensure an earlier version of this bill passed the House in July as an amendment to the INVEST in America Act.

The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act includes $7.5 billion to build out a national network of EV charges. Of that $7.5 million, North Carolina is projected to receive $109 million over five years to support a network of EV chargers in the state.