Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Deborah Ross (NC-02) secured a seat on the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.

“I am excited to begin working with my colleagues on the Science, Space, and Technology Committee," said Congresswoman Ross. "I have been privileged to see first-hand the groundbreaking research and development conducted in Wake County and the rest of the Research Triangle. The technology we develop in the next few years has the potential to expand our clean energy initiatives, reform our outdated transportation systems, launch us into the outer reaches of space, and so much more. As a member of this Committee, I look forward to advancing the work of scientists, enterprises and entrepreneurs in North Carolina and across the country alongside an administration that takes science seriously."

“It is a pleasure to welcome Congresswoman Ross to the Science, Space, and Technology Committee,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “She represents a District with a vibrant community of scholars, innovators, and researchers in North Carolina’s famed Research Triangle--constituents who play a critical role in advancing our nation’s leadership in science and technology.  In addition, her experience as a civil rights lawyer who served in the North Carolina House of Representatives for over ten years will bring a unique perspective to the Committee. I look forward to working with her to address the many challenges this nation faces.”

Due to the number of residents in the 2nd District who work at one of the 15 EPA offices in Research Triangle Park (RTP), Congresswoman Ross' work on the SST Committee will be vital to the District.

The Committee has jurisdiction over much of the non-defense Federal research and development (R&D) portfolio. The Committee has exclusive jurisdiction over the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The Committee also has authority over R&D activities at the Department of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA),  Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Weather Service (NWS), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).