Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 7, 2024

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg U.S. Department of Transportation Office of the Secretary 200 New Jersey Ave SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

We write regarding the North Carolina Railroad's (NCRR) application through the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) grant program for the Carolinian & Piedmont Passenger & Freight Improvements (CAPPFI) project. This project is critical to supporting equity, safety, network, and supply-chain resiliency in the freight and passenger rail networks between Greensboro and Raleigh, as well as indirectly benefiting rail traffic from Morehead City to Charlotte.

NCRR's application was jointly prepared with the support of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) and Norfolk Southern Railway (NSR). NCRR seeks \$105 million in CRISI funding critical to the completion of several key components of the rail system, including the construction of siding extensions, a grade separation, rail replacement, rail bridge replacement design and permitting, and a corridor clearance study. The work is estimated to cost \$170 million, with a 38% match paid for jointly by NCRR, NCDOT, and NSR. This match, which includes both public and private funds, demonstrates NCRR's commitment to the project.

This corridor project will support safety, service, resiliency, infrastructure, and growth in North Carolina. The project will connect critical lines in Eastern North Carolina, promote growth in our state's emerging automotive and battery belt, and bolster national defense through transporting military equipment.

For these reasons, we urge your full and fair consideration of NCRR's application within all relevant rules and regulations. Please do not hesitate to contact our offices for additional information about the project.

Very truly yours,

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

ah Km

Thom Tillis U.S. Senator

Thom Tillis

Ted Budd U.S. Senator Alnut Lan

Alma S. Adams, PhD. Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress Donald G. Davis Member of Congress