Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515-3302

September 21, 2023

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kay Granger Chairwoman Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker McCarthy, Leader Jeffries, Chairwoman Granger, and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We write to urge you to bring forward appropriations bills without harmful poison pill policy riders to adequately fund the federal government in Fiscal Year 2024.

Bogging down the appropriations process with controversial policy debates is contributing to another damaging political impasse. Given our country's many ongoing challenges and urgent needs, the House of Representatives must work cooperatively to complete the appropriations process in a timely manner. Clean funding bills – free of contentious poison pill riders – represent the best path forward as we work to fulfill our duty to the American people to keep the federal government running.

In addition, we strongly urge the Appropriations Committee to provide adequate funding to nondefense discretionary programs. Enacting domestic spending levels below the caps set by the bipartisan debt ceiling package would threaten the health, safety, security, and economic wellbeing of our constituents.

Again, consistent with the best traditions of the House and the best interests of our country, we strongly urge you to advance responsible appropriations legislation free of poison pill provisions. We owe it to the American people to pass appropriations bills that meet the urgent needs of today and invest in America's future.

Sincerely,

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress



Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Jenn: Sewell.

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress Eleanor Holmes Norton
Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

James P. Me Donem

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Some S. Pusola

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Grace J Napolitano
Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Mike Levin
Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress Jasmine crockett
Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Ranking Member, Committee on Natural Resources

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Summer Lee Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress Veronica Escobar

Member of Congress

Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly
Member of Congress

10.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of C

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Judy Chu Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress Setl Magaziner

Member of Congress

Tony Cardenes
Tony Cárdenas
Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler
Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Danny K. Cavis Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Jimmy Gornez
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Jij/Tokuda Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress

Greg Casar Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress Winds J. Jany

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

nike Shongon Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Cori Bush

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa
Member of Congress

Joaquin Castro
Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Mark Jalany

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

David Scott
Member of Congress

torament:

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Yadira Carayco, M.D Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio
Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Jeff Jackson Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Greg Stanton
Member of Congress

Thank Pallone, Jr.
Frank Pallone, Jr.
Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress Betty McCollum
Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress